Evaluation English tests in Australia

The official English tests designed to evaluate your language skills that are required for gaining entry in to university courses in Australia are listed below:

International English Language Testing System (IELTS)

The IELTS is one of the most popular English proficiency tests in the world, and it is wide accepted by all academic and governmental institutions in Australia. The test centres are managed by the British Council, or by independent organisations that meet strict standards of quality, security and customer service. There are over 6,000 institutions in 120 countries offering the IELTS test, meaning candidates can sit the exam in their home country. IELTS is accepted as evidence of a prospective student’s level of English by most universities in English speaking countries.

The IELTS is offered in two levels: ‘Academic’, and ‘General Training’ and it is designed to examine a candidate’s speaking, listening, reading and writing abilities.

The 'Academic' level is suitable for candidates planning to undertake higher education study and the 'General Training' is suitable for candidates planning to undertake non academic training or work experience, or for immigration purposes. The test is widely recognised by universities, employers, professional bodies, and immigration authorities around the world.

Further details can be found on the IELTS website.

Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)

TOEFL (Test Of English as a Foreign Language) is a test used by many colleges, universities, government agencies and exchange and scholarship programs in the US, UK and Canada as a means of evaluating the language skills of a person whose first language is not English. The test can be taken in three formats: paper-based, computer-based, and internet-based.

TOEFL study guides can be easily found online with other recommended resources listed. You may be able to access some of the sample tests and prepare with personal study. Or you may look for a class with an instructor to help you prepare for the test.

Further details can be found on the TOEFL website.

Cambridge English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

Cambridge ESOL is a part of the University of Cambridge that provides qualifications for students wishing to study the English language. The exams are well known for their high quality assessment of real English, as used in everyday work, study and leisure situations. It is recognised by thousands of educational organisations and employers throughout the world.

There are several levels to choose from:
  1. General English: gives you practice in using English in a wide variety of contexts, relevant to work, study and leisure activities.
  2. Professional English: covers the same range of language skills as the General English exams but are ideal if you want to prove to an employer that you can use English in a wide range of business situations. 
  3. Academic English: If you want to study in an English-speaking country and need proof of your ability to follow a course taught in English, these are the exams for you. 
  4. Young Learners English: These tests are aimed at children aged 7—12 and provide a stimulating and enjoyable way of assessing a child's level of English. 
  5. Teaching Awards: Cambridge ESOL also offers internationally recognised qualifications for new and experienced English language teachers.
Further details can be found on the Cambridge ESOL website.